PHOTO LIVE: New Season

22 September – 20 October, 2021

September 21, 2021Events

PHOTO LIVE: New season of talks connects artists, photographers and curators in Australia and the UK

Photo Australia, Melbourne and Autograph, London are collaborating to present an international season of PHOTO LIVE talks. The ten free online conversations between artists, photographers and curators from Australia and the UK will explore ideas of identity and belonging in the context of human rights, representation, and social justice. This program highlights the importance of centring black, Indigenous, feminist, queer and other marginalised voices and storytelling in photography.

While the UK and Australia are set apart geographically this is a great opportunity to explore the commonalities of marginalised, diaspora and Indigenous voices especially in relation to identity and belonging” said Elias Redstone, Artistic Director, Photo Australia / PHOTO 2022 International Festival of Photography.

This is the perfect opportunity to work with Autograph, who have been supporting diverse photographic practices for over 30 years. The line-up of artists that we are both bringing to this series is exceptional and I am sure that these sessions will provide great insights into the lived experiences of these artists from both the UK and Australia.”

Mark Sealy, Director of Autograph, said: “We are delighted to be working with Photo Australia, continuing dialogues with colleagues and artists in Australia and to share these conversations with the public.

Artists Involved

Participating artists from Australia include Phuong Ngo, Dean Cross, Scotty So, Ying Ang and Atong Atem.

Artists from the UK include Ope Lori, Silvia Rosi, Sonal Kantaria, Mohini Chandra and Othello De’Souza-Hartley.

These artists will be in conversation with esteemed curators in both countries including Dr Zoé Whitley (Director, Chisenhale Gallery), Salma Tuqan (Deputy Director, Delfina Foundation), Shaune Lakin (Head Curator of International Art, National Gallery of Australia), Pippa Milne (Senior Curator, Monash Gallery of Art) and Andy Butler (Acting Artistic Director, West Space)

Two talks will take place each Wednesday from 22 September to 20 October 2021, streamed live on Photo Australia’s website (photo.org.au) and Facebook page, and Autograph’s Facebook page

The talks take place as part of the Autograph exhibition Care | Contagion | Community — Self & Other (23 September 2021 – 12 February 2022) and in the lead up to PHOTO 2022 International Festival of Photography (29 April – 22 May 2022).

This program is part of the UK/Australia Season 2021-22—a collaboration between the British Council and the Australian Government’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, under the patronage of Her Majesty the Queen. The theme of the Season is ‘Who Are We Now?’ and will reflect on the shared history, current relationship and imagine the future of the two nations.

For more information head to photo.org.au or autograph.org.uk

Key Information:

22 September

10am London / 7pm Melbourne: Phuong Ngo

11am London / 8pm Melbourne: Ope Lori

29 September

9am London / 6pm Melbourne: Dean Cross

10am London / 7pm Melbourne: Silvia Rosi

6 October

10am London / 8pm Melbourne: Scotty So

11am London / 9pm Melbourne: Sonal Kantaria

13 October

10am London / 8pm Melbourne: Ying Ang

11am London / 9pm Melbourne: Mohini Chandra

20 October

9am London / 7pm Melbourne: Atong Atem

10am London / 8pm Melbourne: Othello De’Souza-Hartley

Photo Collective

Photo Collective

Photo Collective is dedicated to finding meaning through photography. Here we share opportunities, events, educational resources and project features. For any content queries or media requests, please contact Angus on the email below.